Matheran Train

Matheran Toy Train

Welcome to MatheranMatheran Train is one of the heritage railway in India. This train connects Neral to Matheran by covering a distance of 20 kms.

The Matheran mini Train was founded by Abdul Hussein Adamjee Peerbhoy. The project planned in 1900 and completed in 1907. The Neral-Matheran railway construction work started in 1904 and completes within 3 years. The first Neral-Matheran mini train run in 1907. The Matheran Train project is financed by Sir Adamjee Peerbhoy, father of Abdul Hussein Adamjee Peerbhoy. Approximate cost of this project goes to 16 lakh Indian rupees.

The train travel through the Western Ghats and it takes around two hours to reach Matheran from Neral through mountains. The train services gets suspend during every mansoon from June to October.

Central Railway is planning to strengthen the Neral-Matheran track which will help to speeden the train. Now it takes around 2 hours to travel between Neral and Matheran but after this work it can bring down to 1.30 or 1.45 hours.

Matheran Train Booking

The Matheran toy train tickets can be booked from Mumbai or Pune in advance. At Matheran and Neral the booking starts 45 minutes before departure. However, we recommend to book the train tickets in advance in high season.

For this season the train will not be functional from June 2014 to September 2014 due to mansoon season.

Matheran Train Ticket Booking Online

Online ticket booking is not available now.

If you are planning your vacation to Matheran you can refer below train schedule and plan accordingly:

Matheran train Timetable

Neral to Matheran (Branch Line)

Train Number New Number Neral Matheran Details
601 52001 7:30 9:30 Regular
603 52003 9:00 11:10 Regular
605 52005 10:35 12:30 Regular
607 52007 11:40 13:34 Regular
609 52009 12:50 15:05 New Pair of Train Introduced
611 52011 17:05 19:00 Regular

Matheran to Neral (Branch Line)

Train Number New Number Neral Matheran Details
602 52002 7:00 8:35 Regular
604 52004 9:50 11:35 Regular
606 52006 12:35 14:00 New Pair of Train Introduced
608 52008 13:50 15:25 Regular
610 52010 15:15 16:50 Regular
612 52012 16:30 18:10 Regular